A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City

restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no

currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the

majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has

shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a

decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating.

Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should

be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In a recent sales study it is shown that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during past five years, even though there is no speciality with seafood in restaurants. The opponents have come to this conclusion due to nationwide study that indicates that families at Bay City eat few home cooked meals than they use to eat a decade ago. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, some scenario must be answered.

First of all, is nationwide study is properly analyzed? As it only states that families eat less home cooked meals, but it does not have proper statement which tells that all family only eats only seafood. There might be scenario that families at Bay City might not eat much home cooked meals due to lack of time in their tight schedule. As today's world has vast technology and high competition it might be possible that cooking is not possible on everyday bases. But it does not tells us that all this families only eat seafood. There are many possible situation like eating fruits or a healthy meal provided by their office. So simplying assuming that all or most the family who don't prefer cooked meals eats seafood is not true.

Secondly, in Bay City though there is no seafood specialist the dishes of seafood consumption is increasing is stated here, but there may be condition in restaurants that except seafood only beverages are provided by most of the restaurants in Bay City. These brings to no other option of having variety in eating and due to hunger people stays on seafood only. If in Bay City, about 8 out of 10 restaurants are having only specific choice options in their menu with high weightage of seafood, than there would be obvious to bring people to eat seafood. And due to lack of time and hunger people would not consider whether food is salubrious or not. So instead of just providing more specialist seafood in restaurants it might be profitable to bring variety of options for food.

Thirdly case comes that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. But there might be scenario that increasing restaurant in Bay City with seafood dishes might get worsen to present restaurants. As amount of resources needed to build the seafood dishes might be challenging in Bay City due to lack of fishes or required things to cook seafood and this may bring to loss for present resturant as well as new restaurants. So proper analysis of requirements needs to take place before bringing new seafood dishes or new restaurant.

In conclusion , the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwanted assumption. If author is able to give answers to above scenario and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposal recommendation to bring the new seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood with gaining popularity and profitable scenario.