A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance although it might seem like the author makes a compelling argument and that the new Captain Seafood Restaurant should be profitable and popular, there is a remarkable lack of evidence suggesting that this argument is a weak one. There are multiple missing evidences indicating that the new restaurant might not be as popular or profitable.

The study about consumption of seafood dishes which the author states as “recent” although plausible cannot be a solid source of evidence. There is no information on how recent this study is. There might have been a change in lifestyle between the current time and the time at which this study was conducted. A 30% increase is also not credible as we do not know the sample size taken while this measurement was done. There is a possibility that residents of Bay City interested in seafood might have a favourite restaurant for their cravings and will be reluctant to try out a new seafood restaurant.

The unavailability of currently operating restaurants specializing in seafood is a crude piece of evidence. Simply because a restaurant is known for its seafood dishes does not mean that people will only go to these restaurants. Everyone has a different taste, and the taste of Bay City residents might lie in other restaurants who although, might not have seafood as their speciality, could certainly still serve good seafood. These restaurants have not been mentioned.

A nationwide study, cited by the author, states that families eat significantly less home cooked meals than they did a decade ago. This study seems vague and does not specify the actual sample size of the families in question. It also fails to clarify what a “significant decrease” in home cooked meals means. This is an important piece of evidence required to make the author’s argument valid. Although there could be a considerable lessening of meals cooked at home this unspecified decrease might not be sufficient to assume that families will flock to restaurants. Home cooked could also mean that these families buy frozen food from grocery stores and just heat it up at home. There is zero evidence to suggest otherwise.

At the same time the author mentions that the families in question also express increased concern about healthful eating. But what this healthful eating implies is not clear. There is no evidence to suggest that just because these families wish to eat healthy, they will indulge in seafood. Seafood although known to be healthy is at times less preferred as compared to vegetables and even other forms of meat. The author does not state the benefits of seafood over other healthy options and why families would be inclined to order seafood as a healthy meal.

Due to a sufficient lack of evidence the author’s argument is a weak one. There is nothing to suggest about the positive and exponential growth of the Captain Seafood restaurant unless new evidence is presented.