The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While this argument has some merit, its line of reasoning requires close examination. The above paragraph states that the UltraClean handsoap is a cut above what currently was being used in the hospital in Worktown.

The laboratory study that is referred to in the paragraph states that a concentrated solution for the UltraClean was used which makes this comparison with the handsoap being used in the hospital foundation less, moreover due to lack of information provided about the effectiveness of the current liquid hand soap the argument proves to be more ineffective.

The reduction of infections mentioned in the hospital of Worktown that is claimed to be because of the use of UltraClean handsoap might have other possible reasons to it like better sanitation of the hospital, advance in technologies and supply of better-quality drugs. The hospital reported to have a 20 percent reduction in cases of infections in patients which partly may have been because of the handsoap which improves personal hygiene nonetheless information like the original number of cases, change in staff etc also have to be taken into consideration before coming to an unbiased conclusion.

One of the explanations can also be the location of the hospital is not convenient to the residents of the town, rather a new hospital closer to them is diverting the traffic. They have also failed to report about the time span in which this observation was done which doesn’t provide clarity and hence only weakens the aspect of this claim. Due to this lack of information about time span of this observation there is a high chance of the numbers dipping down due to a sudden change in volatile reasons like the weather that changes constantly.

In conclusion this argument is a weak one because it depends on only one factor that is the UltraClean liquid handsoap while disregarding the fact that there could be numerous factors affecting the results seen by the hospital.