A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following paragraph written by the author suggests, the opening of the new restaurant Captain Seafood that specializes in seafood that should be quite popular and profitable in Bay City. Although the argument looks convincing at first glance it lacks to a certain degree when it comes to evidence required to support the author's claim.

The author has mentioned a sales study of restaurants in Bay City indicating a growth in consumption of seafood dishes however, the specifications of the study are not stated like :What products was the sales study done on?, How many of the products were seafoods? and so on. Author has also not stated the amount of seafood consumption before these five years due to the fact that if the number was actually minute to begin with, a 30 percent growth will not affect the restaurants at all hence not supporting the authors claim .The factor of increase of tourism in the Bay City, its Cultural influences is also not specified.

The author lacks to provide the information regarding how many families in the Bay City are two-income families therefore not giving a clarity on the issue. According to the studies two-income families tend to eat less home cooked meals while expressing concern for healthy eating but this statement does not fully highlight the issue as healthy eating can be both maintained by eating in restaurants and the most important of all without eating seafood. There is a mention of a nationwide study in the argument however the claim made by the author is regarding the Bay City therefore making the study too generalized to base any conclusion on.

Hence although at first glance the author's argument might seem convincing it is rife with holes and needs more specific and detailed evidence and study about the consumption of seafood in the Bay City, and if opening the Captain seafood restaurant with be popular and profitable.