The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. "In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system." Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals stated that in a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a product called UltraClean has performed very well in the reduction of harmful bacteria. The article claims this on the basis of the performance of the concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap which produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria compared to regular liquid hand soaps. The article also claims that the performance of regular strength UltraClean at their hospital in Worktown also reported 20 percent reduction in patient infection. However, these claims of the article are based on unwarranted assumptions and in order to evaluate the claims properly, evidence has to be provided for the two assumptions made by the article.

Firstly,it was stated in the memo that the study for the concentrated extra strength UltraClean was performed in a controlled manner. So, the results obtained in the study might prove to be false or only partially true when performed in the real world. If the UltraClean hand soap was used in a place where the conditions are highly worse compared to the laboratory conditions, it might prove fatal to the ones using the hand soap. Also, as the soap was highly concentrated it might chemically react with the person using it in a bad way and might prove dangerous to be used. So, evidence of the performance of the hand soap in real world conditions might prove useful for the evaluation of the assumptions made by the memo.

Secondly, the performance of regular-strength UltraClean at the Worktown hospital was being generalised with all the hospitals in the area. As it is known about the performance of the hand soap in other hospitals, it is not good to generalise about its performance. The performance of the hand soap on different kinds of bacteria is revealed and hence, the assumption made by the memo proves to be premature. If evidence was provided about the performance of the UlrtaClean hand soap on different kinds of bacteria and also in various hospitals across the area, it might be easier to provide an evaluation of the assumptions made by the memo.

In conclusion, the article in the memo has made some unwarranted assumptions which might prove fatal to the people using the UltraClean hand soap. So, if proper evidence concerning the performance of the hand soap under the various aforementioned categories is provided the claims and assumptions of the memo can be evaluated.