The following appeared in a health magazine. "The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In an article in a health magazine, it has been stated that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles due to the recent survey which showed that the people started to closely conform to the nutritional values ten years ago and also due to the increase in purchase of food products containing kiran and decline in food products containing sulia. However, three questions must be answered to evaluate the reasoning of this article.

Firstly, what percent of the citizens who participated in the survey are people who can afford the above mentioned lifestyle? The survey fails to shed light on the social and economical condition of the people who have participated in the survey. If, the majority of the people who participated in the survey are financially well off and can easily obtain food items containing kiran, then the argument is flawed, and to properly evaluate the reasoning of the article in the magazine, additional information is needed.

Secondly, What if the only people who participated in the survey were the ones who followed a healthful lifestyle? The article fails to present data regarding percentage of the people who followed a healthful lifestyle and the percentage of people who did not. If the survey was taken with skewed representation of people, then this would weaken the reasoning of the article.

Finally, it is not known about the sales of foods containing sulia in comparison to foods containg kiran and by what percentage the sales of food containing sulia have reduced. If the sales of food items with sulia were reduced by only a small fraction, and the reduced sales of food items with sulia are in same range of sales of food items containing kiran, it would weaken the reasoning of the article as the people practising healthful lifestyle are in same proportion as people not practising healthful lifestyle. So, details regarding the sales of the both kinds of food items would be useful to evaluate the reasoning of the article.

In conclusion, the reasoning of the article about the increase in healthful lifestyle of citizens of Forsythe is considerably flawed due to its dependence on unwarranted assumptions. If the article is able to provide evidence for the above questions, it would be useful to evaluate the reasoning of the article.