The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. The explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections is the use of UltraClean soap."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author makes an argument that there was a 20 percent reduction in patient infections all because of the UltraClean soap, which could be true if it was not for the large quantity of alternative explanations that could be provided for all of the author’s statements. These alternative explanations seem to have not been considered by the author.

To begin with, the author cites an experiment done in a controlled laboratory where a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in bacteria than the liquid hand soaps currently used in hospitals. Now, the sample of UltraClean hand soap used here is mentioned as concentrated and of extra strength. It could be that the reduction in bacteria was simply because of the extra concentration used and not the product itself. There is another unexplored explanation that the same strength and concentration of regular hand soap could give the same results. Information about the original reduction of bacteria is also not provided making the 40 percent increase less credible. If the reduction by regular liquid hand soaps was small to begin with a 40 percent increase wouldn’t make too much of a difference.

Furthermore, during the test of UltraClean in hospitals of Worktown only regular strength of the hand soap was used making this test and the test in the laboratory unrelated. Strength of the soap plays an important factor in determining how useful the soap is against bacteria. Also, this test has been conducted in only a single hospital and not multiple hospitals spread over a large geographic region, making the test less reliable.

Finally, the results of the test which show that patient infection percentage reduced are also very questionable. There are multiple alternative explanations for this decrease in infection rate. It could be due to the current season which might not be suitable for most of the infection causing bacteria. A 20 percent decrease could also be due to a lesser number of patients which bring the overall infection count to a lower number. The author does not specify the time between the hospital and laboratory test. Thus, another alternative explanation could be that during this time in between the expertise of the hospital staff increased and number of infections decreased by 20 percent. The lifestyle of the patients might have also been improved due to renovations and new technologies introduced in the hospital which could lead to less infections.

There are a number of alternative explanations which poke holes in the author’s argument and rival their statement. There is very little reason why the explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infections could be due to the use of UltraClean soap. More tests would have to be conducted to provide a basis for this argument.