Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The main intent of the legal system, in my opinion, is to solve the problems faced by society by instilling in people a sense of fear of a higher authority that needs due deference. The penalty associated with the flouting of rules motivates many to be cognizant in life. But the legal system can only ensure solutions to the problems to a certain extent. I agree with the claim that many problems faced by the society cannot be solved by imposing laws, for the stated reason that laws cannot change what the people think, as well as an additional one. But I do concede that it doesn’t prove true in all the cases.

Firstly, laws are meant to solve the problems such as crime, safety violations, etc. But they impose hefty fines and strict punishments if violated. It simply penalizes and does not change the mindset of people towards the problem. Since there is no change in thinking, there is no guarantee that such a problem won’t be repeated in the future. People are not attached towards eradicating the root cause of the problem from society, they simply want to slide past it without it affecting them much. This ignorance increases the problems even more. For example, the penalty for not wearing a helmet on a bike is a hefty fine. The legal system introduced this penalty so that the riders are safe while riding in the unfortunate case of an accident. But people think of it as an additional unnecessary expense that can be avoided by wearing the helmet, so they wear it without actually understanding why the law was there in the first place.

Secondly, it is human tendency to find workarounds and shortcuts to get out of everything. Imposing laws just pushes them to find loopholes in the system to escape the legal system and go on gallivanting. The success of some anti-societal elements in skipping the system distresses others and triggers a chain reaction of everyone disregarding the laws, leading to a rapid increase in the problem under discussion. Continuing with the previous example of a helmet, the violators would either simply pay a bribe to the traffic personnel to relieve them of the fine, or they would carry the helmet in their hands and wear it only before a traffic checkpoint, and remove afterwards. This practice of not wearing the helmet has proven fatal to many riders on the road, but even with increased fines, people do not heed the established law.

However, I concede that this does not hold true in some cases. In cases where the penalty is capital punishment, the legal system has mostly eradicated some of the serious problems, but obviously not completely. In these cases, people understand the intent of legal system behind introducing such a heavy punishment. For example, serious offences such as terrorism and homicide have reduced in the countries with strict legal systems. A change of mind and heart is very difficult while dealing with people having such criminal minds, in these cases legal system is the only way to solve these problems.

In conclusion, the claim that many modern society problems cannot be solved by the legal system for the stated reason that laws don’t change the heart and mind of people is justified. Additionally, since finding loopholes in the legal system is easier, the problems go farther away from being solved. Only a handful of problems involving very serious consequences can be solved by the legal system.