Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Student life is the phase where one gets complete independence to explore different avenues of life, enabling them to choose and follow a particular life and career path in the future. There are no work commitments for college and university students, allowing them to pursue and try whatever they want. I mostly agree with the claim presented in the prompt that students in colleges and universities must spend at least a semester studying in any foreign country. My stance on the same is due to the reasons stated further.

Firstly, each country has a government-mandated prescribed curriculum which the teachers and professors adhere to in their lectures. This restraint, coupled with other constraints, often limits the knowledge imparted to the students. Studying for some time in a foreign country would help the students overcome this limitation and experience the teachings of professors from other countries and universities. This also would give them the chance to interact with the global community of students in their respective fields and expose them to their research and development facilities, which the student’s home university might be lacking. For example, a student from any Tier-3 college in a developing country would not be acquainted with a lot of things due to a lack of resources and infrastructure, but this gap can be well filled if he or she gets a chance to spend a semester abroad in Germany, the country whose universities are known to have the best research facilities in the world. Thus, the student’s lack of resources in the home country would be fulfilled by this mandate of a semester abroad.

Secondly, student life is not all about academics and what happens inside the classroom. What happens outside the classroom among peers is equally essential for holistic growth and development. When one interacts with their classmates, he or she gets to exchange ideas with people from different streams and backgrounds, but since everyone is from the same country, culturally, it is more or less the same. But, if a student gets to spend some semesters studying abroad, they would get an opportunity to mingle with people from a plethora of different cultures and values, learn about their ways of life, and get a broad perspective on every idea. This would open new doors for the student community regarding global collaboration and employment opportunities. For example, great European scholars spent a considerable amount of time in the Nalanda University during emperor Ashoka’s reign to share knowledge with the Indian scholars and to learn about the Indian ways of life. Their findings go a long way in establishing a powerful position for Indian scholars in history. If this helped the historians thousands of years ago, it would greatly benefit the present-day students as well.

Although, some would argue that shifting to a new country only for one semester would be a very tedious task for the students. It would take a lot of their time to adapt to the new place, which they could’ve very well spent in the classroom had they been continuing in the same university back home. But isn’t this one of the main teachings of student life - to learn to adapt as quickly as possible? The teenage and twenties are the years when one can afford such rapid transitions in life, and overcoming the challenges in these would help a long way in life. For example, when the COVID-19 pandemic struck the world in early 2020, everyone was forced to a completely new way of life irrespective of their age group. But, a student who has moved to a foreign university for one semester as a mandate would easily adapt to this change without getting affected much. In this way, this also teaches them some important life skills.

In conclusion, asking students to spend one semester abroad as a compulsory requirement has a lot of advantages for the students. It would expose them to lectures from a different breed of professors, allow them to interact with the global community of students, and teach them a lot of important life skills. Hence, the claim given in the prompt is well justified.