People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Inevitably, responses to events will differ between each individual person. The prompt suggests that people’s attitudes are primarily determined by their immediate situation or surroundings rather than society as a whole. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement and argue that while society may play a role in one’s attitude, an individual’s surroundings play a primary role.

Evidently, society plays a large role in the development of our perspectives. Certain values within society often affect how people will perceive the outcome of events. Take for instance a situation where individual has over two thousand-dollars in their pocket and must save their friend from drowning at the expense of spoiling their money. In a society who prioritizes the preservation of family and friends over financial gain, the individual will be quite concent with the outcome – they saved their beloved friend. However, in another society where material goods are more valued, the individual’s attitude may drastically differ from the other. This example illustrates that one’s surroundings do not necessarily determine an individuals attitude. Rather, the societies values contribute to one’s perception and attitude.

However, every person is unique and autonomous. In other words, it is possible for people to dissent with the values and perspectives of their given society. For example, certain individuals living a society driven by material goods may be raised by a family who was born and raised in the society that prioritizes interpersonal relationships. Taking the scenario mentioned above, while most of the society would be upset that they lost two thousand-dollars, this particular indidivual would feel pride and happiness in that they honoured their morales and saved a beloved friend. This example illustrates that even in a society with certain values, there will be individual differences. Therefore, society as a whole will not dictate an individual’s attidue.

Regarldess of society as a whole, every individual has their own goals and aspirations. Take for instance a society who does not believe in free will – this community sympathizes with people in need and therefore decides to devote a portion of their taxes to providing shelter for the homeless population. As mentioned above, the values of certain individuals may differ from their societies. As a result, while some will feel as though they contributing positively, others may disagree with this decision and may believe it is a waste of tax money. This example demonstrates that is is possible for individual’s within the same society to adopt different attitudes towards a given situation. That being said, society as a whole does not guarantee an individual’s attitude.

The recommendation of this prompt is related to a very complex topic that cannot be summed up in one sentence. There are no easy answers, as they are many different factors that must be analzed. Moreover, the side in which an individual will support ultimately depends on their personal perspectives. Although there may be some cases where society as a whole plays a role in an individual’s attitude, my opinion remains that attitudes are largely based on the situation itself and the individuals personal values.