"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college"

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Students enter secondary school at a time of critical development and maturation. The prompt recommends that a nation should require all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this recommendation and argue that implementing a national curriculum may cause more harm than good for two reasons.

Implementing a national curriculum may be advantagious in order to ensure that all students are receiving the same level and quality of education. Different locations may differ in socio-economic status. For instance, some students living in a more impoverished location may be forced to attend schools that were unable to fund proper training for teachers. Alternatively, students in middle to high-class neighbourhoods are to attend schools with competent and well-trained teachers. This example demonstrates that employing a national curriculum will ensure that the quality of education is equal among all students, regardless of socio-economic status.

However, the dangers of employing a national curriculum outweigh the advantages. A national curriculum determined by the nation itself can lead to a spread of propaganda among the influential minds of young students. For instance, a nation in favour of a political party may allocate more time educating students about their favoured party, addressing only the benevolent while neglecting the malevolent history of events. Moreover, the curriculum may include minimum or completely remove all material of the party in which the nation does not support. This example illustrates that employing a national curriculum may be detrimental to students' quality of education. A curriculum decided by a nation may exploit students and manipulatve their perspectives in a way that aligns with the nation.

In addition, adopting a national curriculum may thwart student's knowlege capacities. If every student is taught the exact same curriculum throughout a whole nation, then this would limit the potential for knowledge gained through social interaction. Take for instance if a certain nations curriculum only educated students on the cultures of Canadian, American, and African American decent. Students of the nation who interact with each other will all be informed of these cultures. However, none of them will be aware of other cultures such as Chinese or Indian decent. As a result, in the midst of their social interactions, they are incapable of correcting the other's on naive or narrow-minded comments, and unable to educating each other on additional cultural backgrounds. This example illustrates the importance of diversity in a nation, as knowledge is also gained through social interactions. That being said, implementing a national curriculum may damage diversity and potential for knowledge among students.

To employ a national curriculum or to not is a complicated question to ask. As noted above there are indeed benefits that may come from it. However, there are also plenty of disadvantages that may arise from limiting diversity of knowledge. That being said, my position remains the same.