The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many are competing to be the first that develops an all-encompassing artificial intelligence that supersedes human intelligence. The prompt suggests that this task is impossible, as human minds will always be superior to machines. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that it is possible for two reasons.

Some may argue against the plausibility of a machine superior to that of humans because the human mind has something that a machine can never possess – consciousness. Consciousness is believed to be present only in a few species and it’s anatomical location within the brain is unknown; thus, leading some to believe that the mind is an immaterial being located within an individuals physical body. The fact that consciousness cannot be located has been used to argue that human’s cannot embed conscious awareness into machine’s. Without consciousness, machine’s cannot be compared to the superior minds of humans, as they are simply composed of a set of instructions and functions.

However, the lack of a conscious being does not necessarily mean machines can never be superior to that of humans. There are plenty of artificial intelligence’s in extant that have proven to perform better than humans at a given task. Take for instance a robot named Watson whose developers embedded a large database of general knowledge. Watson competed on a game show against three undefeated, human competitors. While the three humans did manage to win some points, Watson did win the game. This examine illustrates that it has indeed been proven that machines can be superior, which undoubtedly discounts the prompt’s suggestion.

Another machine “AlphaGo” has relentlessly beaten many professional Go players. Go is a traditional Chinese boardgame that requires expertise such as planning ahead, predicting the opponents moves, and quickly adopting new strategies to counteract unpredicted moves. AlphaGo is another example of an artificial intelligence that has proven to be superior to humans. The examples mentioned above are only two of many machines that are capable of performing better than humans at a given task.

Indeed, there are many factors that must come into play when discussing such a complex topic. I believe that one’s perspective on this topic depends on their definition of ‘superior’. If it is based solely on performance on tasks, it is definitely possible for machines to outperform humans. However, if ‘superior’ is based on certain cognitive qualities such as consciousness, then it is possible that machines are incapable of being more superior. However, my conclusion remains as I believe in the potential for machines to surpass the intelligence human minds.