A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that the new Captain Seafood Restaurant in Bay City will be popular and profitable. He has come to this conclusion based on the thirty-percent increase in seafood consumption in the past five years. In addition, because most residents of Bay City are two-income families and findings from a study indicated that those families eat significantly fewer home-booked meals and express greater concern for healthy diets. However, before the strength of this argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be assessed.

First of all, the author must evaluate whether the thirty-percent increase is in fact significant. Perhaps the initial number of people who enjoyed eating seafood five years ago was a total of five. If this were the case, then a thirty-percent increase from five would be about two people. However, if it were the case that the initial number of residents was three-hundred, then a thirty-percent increase would be significantly higher. If the former case is true, then the author’s argument regarding the new Captain Seafood restaurant’s popularity and profitability would be significantly weakened.

Second of all, the author must demonstrate that the study findings can be generalized to Bay City residents. Although nationwide, the study does not guarantee that their findings are applicable to different cultural norms. That is, it is possible that while most two-income families value the importance of a healthy diet, the cultural values of Bay City do not align with the majority. Perhaps Bay City resident’s prefer fried chicken and were not raised in families that served seafood. It is also possible that Bay City is well-known for their high-quality chicken and many residents are loyal to their tradition of animal consumption. If the scenario has merit, then the author’s conclusion would be significantly weakened.

Lastly, the author must provide sufficient evidence illustrating that Captain Seafood is considered healthy. Even if Bay City residents did value a healthy diet, perhaps the restaurant’s menu options primarily consist of fried fish and overly saucy or oily foods. Alternatively, even if Captain Seafood served healthy items, it is possible that Bay City residents do not consider seafood healthy. Rather, they may oppose this assertion and argue that a diet is only healthy if it solely consists of vegetables. If any of the above are true, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the author is able to provide additional information to support his claims, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of his claim that the new Captain Seafood will be popular and profitable.