In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that Prunty County’s decrease in speed limit has no been effective in improving highway safety. He argues that Prunty should adopt increase lane widths, resurface rough highways, and improve visibility at dangerous intersections. He has come to this conclusion due to the twenty-five percent decrease in accident reports at Butler County after they made these changes. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be assessed.

First of all, the author must demonstrate that the driving habits of Prunty County residents are comparable to the driving habits of Butler County residents. It is possible that the decrease in accidents at Butler were not directly due to the improvement project. Perhaps Butler drivers generally tend to drive more responsibly than Prunty drivers. If this is the case, then Butler drivers drove more cautiously over unfamiliar grounds following the changes made to their highways. Alternatively, it is possible that Prunty drivers would not change their driving habits regardless of the changes; continuing to speed as they did before. If the above is true, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author must provide additional information about the roads in Prunty compared to Butler County. Perhaps Butler is a smaller county, only having two highways and more local roads, wile Prunty’s roads contain five highways and fewer streets. It is also possible that Prunty County’s highways are twice as long as the highways in Butler. Since Butler County has fewer highways, they therefore has a lower chance of accidents. Alternatively, Prunty cars must drive on highways for a longer duration, therefore increases the chance of collisions. If either of these scenarios has merit, then changes made to Butler’s highways and their accident reports cannot be generalized to Prunty County’s.

Lastly, are the accident reports in Butler County accurate? Perhaps there were a significant number of accidents in Butler County that were handled privately between residents. It is also possible that the worker responsible for tracking accident reports entered the wrong number into the computer system, or failed to submit a few reports. If the above are true, then it is possible that there were equally, if not more accidents in Butler than Prunty; thus, the decrease in reported are not due to the improvement project.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the author is able to provide additional information to support his claims, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to employ an improvement project in Prunty County.