The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that Clearview should be a top choice for those planning for retirement. He has come to this conclusion based on decreases in housing costs at Clearview, lower than average taxes, and promises of new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Moreover, he argues that retirees in Clearview will receive excelllent care because there are more physicians present in the area than the national average. However, before evaluating the strength of this argument, three pieces of evidence must be evaluated.

First of all, the author must provide evidence as to why housing costs at Clearview have fallen. It is possible that the population of Clearview is declining. That is, many Clearview residents are moving out of the city and few are moving in, and the decrease in housing costs is an attempt to attract new residents. It is also possible that the decrease in housing costs is simply due to random fluctuations in the market during the past year. If any of the above are true, then these unrelated factors contributing to housing costs are insufficient reasons and should not be used as enticement for retirees.

Secondly, the author must demonstrate that the new programs will be of value to potential retiree's moving to Clearview. Perhaps the public services mentioned above include the expansion of gym equipment for body builders, skareboarding parks, and sprinting tracks. It is possible that most retirees are incapable of performing such physically demanding activities and therefore would not be able to utilize the public services. If this were the case, then the author would be providing a false incentive for potential retirees, as the new programs have no value for the elder population.

Lastly, the author must prove that the physicians at Clearview are all qualified. The author states that the number of physicians in Clearview is far greater than the national average. However, are all of these physicians certified and well-trained? Perhaps Clearview is an area well-known for having low hiring standards. If so, then it is possible that many uncertified or untrained physicians move to Clearview to build a career. If the above is true, then the author's argument does not hold water, as retirees in Clearview - although guaranteed a physician - may not receive the 'excellent health care' they were intiially promised.

In conclusion, the agument, at it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the author is able to provide the three pieces of evidence requested above, then it will be possible to fully evaluated the strength of his argument.