The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that customers either believe butter and margarine are the same or they use the erm ‘butter’ to refer to either butter or margarine. These explanations arise due to Happy Pancake House restaurants replacement of butter with margarine. The author asserts that only 2% of customers have complained about the change and servers report that customers asking for butter do not complain. However, before the author’s explanation can be accounted for the facts presented in the argument, three alternative explanations must be considered.

First of all, it is possible that most customers who ask for butter but receive margaine are aware that the server provided them with margarine but decide not to complain out of courtesy and kindness. Perhaps many customer’s have worked in restaurants and sympathize with the server; thus, trying to avoid embarrassing the server by pointing out her mistake. Alternatively, it is possible that the customer recognizes there are many other customers in the restaurant and wish not to burden the server with additional, unnecessary tasks. If any of the above are true, then the author’s assertion that customers cannot distinguish the two or that they use the terms interchangeably, does not hold water.

Secondly, the lack of complaints may simply be due to the fact that, while most customers acknowledge that the server provided margarine rather than butter, they are indifferent. That is, it is possible that many customers do not care whether they are given butter or margarine, as they enjoy the taste of butter and margine equally and have no particular preference. If this scenario has merit, then the author’s original assertion that the customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine would be false.

Lastly, another alternative explanation that would plausibly account for the lack of complaints could be that most customers prefer margarine but were not aware that Happy Pancake House served margarine. The passage states that the restaurant had only replaced butter with margaine recently. That being said, it is possible that most of the customers that eat at the restaurant regularly and are aware that they only have butter; thus, they only ask the server for butter. However, they are then presently surprised when the server provides them with margarine and therefore have no desire to complain. If the above is true, then the author’s original explanation would be false.

In conclusion, the author’s explanations appear to be accompanied by multiple alternative explanations that are equally as plausible for accounting for the facts mentioned in the passage. That being said, the author must provide additional information in order to support his claim.