The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that eat citizens of West Meria should use Ichthaid every day in order to prevent colds and lower absenteeism. He has come to this conclusion based on findings in a study near East Meria, where they found that fish consumption decreased doctor visits for colds. However, before the strength of this argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be assessed.

First of all, the author must demonstrate that the benefits of fish oil found at East Meria can be generalized to citizens of West Meria. Perhaps the lifestyle’s of East Meria citizens is significantly healthier than those in West Meria. That is, it is possible that East Meria people tend to have healthier diets, exercise more, and get more sleep. Alternatively, maybe West Meria people hare poor diets, do not exercise, and get minimum sleep hours. All of these factors play a large role in an individual’s immune system. That being said, if any of the scenarios has merit, then it is possible that the nutritional supplement would not provide any significant benefits to people of West Meria, as fish oil only acts as one of many defence mechanisms to the cold.

Second of all, the author must demonstrate that the likelihood of catching a cold in East Meria is equally as likely as catching one in West Meria. It is possible that the weather at East Meria is warmer and seldum have heavy windstorms. On the contrary, West Meria may be located closer to water and is therefore a lot colder and windier. In addition, perhaps East Meria has clothing stores with items suitable for cold weather whereas West Meria’s clothing stores do not have many affordable items that offer a lot of warmth. If any of the above are true, then the author’s argument would be significantly weakened, as West Meria citizens are exposed to lower tempoeratures and the consumption of fish oil may not be sufficient to prevent a cold.

Even the use of Ichthaid were effective in preventing colds, the author must provide evidence supporting his claim that the prevention of colds would indeed decrease absenteeism. It is possible that East Meria citizens have less income and cannot afford to miss work, whereas most citizens of West Meria are not in desperate need of money and have poorer work-ethic; thus, often feign sicknesses in order to skip school or work. If this case were true, then the use of Ichthaid, though effective in preventing the cold, would fail to lower absenteeism.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the author is able to provide additional evidence to support his claims, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the strength of the proposed recommendation for West Meria citizens to take Ichthaid as a way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism.