The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that Bower Builders company should increase the size of family rooms and kitchens at the expense of dining rooms and to standardize state-of-the-art kietchens in the homes being built to boost their sales and profits. He has come to this conclusion based on the results from a nationwide survey. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, it is important to identify three assumptions made by the author.

First of all, the author assumes that findings from the nationwide survey are applicable to Bower Builders locations of operations. Perhaps those who responded in favour of larger family rooms and well-appointed kitchens are located in Canada, while the locations of Bower Builders lie in Germany. It is possible that Bower Builders’ customers have different preferences from those in Canada, such that they prefer rooms of modest size. If the above is true, then increasing the size of family rooms and kitchens may lead to unhappy consumers and an overall loss of sales.

Secondly, the author assumes that all of his customers will prefer state-of-the-art kitchens. The nationwide survey found a preference for well-appointed kitchens, however, this does not necessarily correlate to state-of-the-art kitchen styles. It is possible that some respondents perceive traditional kitchens as being well-appointed. If this were the case, then potential purchasers will be deterred from purchasing a home when they walk into a state-of-the-art kitchen. If this scenario has merit, then the authors argument is significantly weakened.

Lastly, the author assumes that people are willing to renounce a spacious dining room. Even if most Bower Builder customers prefer homes with a larger family room and large, well-appointed kitchen, they in-turn be expecting an equally large dining room. It is also possible that some customers value family dinners in the dining room, and would therefore prefer a larger dining room rather than the former. If any of the above are true, then their new standard to constructing homes will result in a loss of sales and profits.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerable flawed due to its reliance on several assumptions. In order to fully evaluate the viability of the authors proposed recommendations to increase the size of family rooms and kitchens, and standardize the procedure of state-of-the-art kitchens, the author needs to provide further evidence to account these unwarranted assumptions.