The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memo concludes that sales and profits will boost, after they increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens. However that conclusion is based on a number of inadequately unsupported assumptions. Without additional information of other indicators of good housing and the validity of the survey, we do not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the author’s conclusion is valid.

To begin the argument, the author claims that in order to sell and profit the most from the housing, they should build with the same features like their competitor Domus Construction. However that evidence relies on the assumption that the only condition to succeed in sales is the large kitchen and living room. There are numerous other factors that have not been taken into account. For example the area where Domus Construction builds might have more positive indicators, like low taxes and low criminality. Maybe the houses they build are bigger and beautiful, so it might not be only about the kitchen and living room. On the other hand, if the author were to provide more information about a much more comprehensive list of how to meet the preferences of people than the claim of state-of-the-art kitchens becomes a standard feature.

Secondly, larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of their recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals. The opponents in this argument, assume that buyers do not need a separate dining room. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the builders did not give buyers many choices, and that is why the most of clients like their option. It would be more convenient if the information tells apart what the trends and reality are. Maybe, the houses with dining rooms are already sold before this and the owners do not like to sell them. Recent buyers, may be a small part of them and since we don’t have numerical data the assumption may not be valid.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands for the moment is considerably flawed because is relying on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to argument the two claims of building with the same features like Domus Construction and avoiding dining rooms would increase profits on house sales and offer more evidence on the indicators of a good house or the real number of people surveyed than the claim for success would be more explainable.