Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Learning is the process of encoding new information. The prompt suggests that we learn more from people holding similar views than those with contradicting views because disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement and argue that learning from those holding different views is the most effective way of learning for three reasons.

First of all, only learning from people whose views we share may lead to rigid mindsets. In order to learn, we must explore new ideas, concepts, and perspectives; thus, we cannot maximize our learning potential if we only turn to those who hold the same beliefs. Take for instance, two Christian children. One child attended an all-Christian school and only taught by teachers and priests from the school. Alternatively, the other child attended public school while going to church on Sundays. Given that the former child has been raised surrounded by those sharing the same view, is likely that this child's knowledge will be built from the beliefs within that one community. However, the latter child was surrounded by those sharing the same religion, different religions, and Athiests. Evidently, this child will likely engage in conversations with classmates about different behaviours, and will therefore have a better understanding and awareness of different belief systems. This example illustrates the dangers of socializing only with those who share the same beliefs, as this contributes to the reinforcement of our current knowledge and perspectives.

Second of all, disagreement should not be perceived as stressful and inhibitory for learning. Rather, it should be seen as a lack of knowledge of others' and should encourage one's curiosity to learn. The idea that disagreement leads to stress and inhibits learning is one that has been embedded in society. In order to maximize learning potential, we must remove this rigidity and reassure the youth that there is nothing wrong with differences in perspectives. Using the example above, it is unlikely that the child only associated with those sharing the same view will be aware of or taught to consider different belief systems. Consequently, when that child enters adulthood and is in a situation where he must communicate through a disagreement with another, it is more likely that his his lack of understanding will result in feelings of stress and confusion than the child who associated with people of different cultures and beliefs. This example demonstrates that the negative connotation associated with 'disagreement' is ony that is developed, not innate. That being said, it is important to encourage youth to be curious and have discussions about different beliefs rather than ignoring its existence.

Lastly, having discussions and debates with people holding contradictory views is the most effective way of maximizing our knowledge. Having debates with others help to expand our understanding of the opposition. In other words, they can provide us insight into why they think the way they do and why they act or respnd to certain situations in comparison to us. While having discussions with those who share similar views may lead to some new insight, this does not maximize our learning. For instance, two individuals sharing an interest in the food industry may exchange information, such that one informs the other of a new product will be available in stores soon. However, two individuals, one with an interest in the food industry and the other disagreeing with the morality of the food industry are far more likely to leave their discussion with more insight. For example, the latter may inform the other that she does not support the food industry because they package their products with plastic and has contributed to global warming. It is possible that the individual who supported the food industry was unware of these acts and will then re-evaluate his beliefs. This example illustrates the importance of having debates and discussions to understand alternative perspectvies as we cannot maximize our knowledge by staying in a bubble.

Some may argue that in cases where people cannot come to an understanding, they may begin to harbour resentment towards to opposition. However, this outcome is not simply due to disagreement - rather, it is due to one's development of narrow-mindedness. That being said, it is important to encourage youth to explore different perspectives with an open-mind. In conclusion, we must include discussions with those whose views contradict our own in order to maximize learning potential.