Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The evolution humanity has seen since the stone age has been possible thanks to the discoveries and inventions by genius minds. Through meticulous research, they were able to tremendously improve the quality of life of the general public. The prompt suggests that scientists and researchers should focus their research on topics that provide value to most people. I mostly agree with this claim for the following two reasons. Admittedly, I do concede that it might not be always possible to know the consequences of any research.

To begin, the essence of research lies in the evolution of the current way of living. The emphasis of the research being carried out should be to find solutions to the problems which the general public face. It is important that the smartest minds put their efforts for solving problems in dire need of a solution. For example, polio was a major disease which affected a vast number of children in the past. It caused disability for life and was detrimental to the development of the youth of the nation. Through intense research a vaccine for it was created. Ever since that groundbreaking development, we have been able to reduce cases of polio to a major extent. On the other hand, if research was being focused on topics completely peripheral to the situation of need, it would delay the time taken to reach solutions in the medical science field. Hence it is important that the focus of the research should be in solving critical issues which can provide relief to the problems of the majority of people.

Also, if the research is focused on bringing prestige to a nation, it ensures delivery of the best version of a technology to the people around the world. When Neil Armstrong became the first person to step on the Moon, it demonstrated to the world the immense potential of NASA. It portrayed America as the standard for any research related to Space. A breakthrough like this can benefit the people around the globe by inspiring other nations to follow trend and invest in space research. If we consider the example of the first time satellites were launched into space, we were able to exchange information across the globe. Competitor nations also focused their research in this area and overall it improved the quality of data we could fetch or the services we could provide using satellites. Hence research should be focused on areas that can create a global impact.

However, it may not always be possible to predict the outcome of every research beforehand. Science is a discovery of the unknown and because of this very definition, research has produced results at times that exceeded our imagination. Research on unpopular topics can at times produce results which in the long run benefit the society, hence we can't restrict our research to always focus on the final outcome. It is possible that in search of a smaller solution, research leads us to solving a major problem. To keep exploring the unknown is what should be emphasized upon to be able to have groundbreaking innovations.

To conclude, I mostly agree with the claim in the prompt that research should focus on areas which the majority of people can benefit from. However, I do concede that it is not always feasible to predict the outcome of every research.