The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the newsletter predicts that absenteeism in schools and workplaces can be drastically lessened by the regular use of supplements derived from beneficia. The author's recommendation is based on the utility of beneficia in prevention of colds with cold being the most prominent reason for leaves in schools and workplaces. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, the following three questions need to be answered.

First of all, are the reasons for absence provided by the students at schools and the employees at workplaces genuine? The author assumes that the people using cold as a reason for taking leaves are speaking the truth. However, this might not be the case. For instance, employees could be lying about the reasons for their absence. They might be taking casual leaves because of workload and cite cold as the reason. Also, it could be that a leave could be for personal reasons which they can't mention publicly. The time it takes to cure mild cold is pretty less and hence it could be that people find it easier to justify their leave later and hence is a popular reason among people. If the above stands true, the author's original argument doesn't hold water.

Moreover, how likely are people to actually follow the author's recommendation and use the nutritional supplements of beneficia? The author predicts the decline in absenteeism once people start using beneficia products based on the assumption that the recipients of the newsletter will actually buy these products. However, this might not be true. It is plausible that the prices of these products are on the high end and most people can't afford it. Furthermore it could be that it takes some time to cure cold using beneficia products and people prefer taking cold medicines to get rid of cold faster. If either of these scenarios comes true, the plausibility of the author's prediction coming true is significantly weakened.

Finally, is plant beneficia the reason for the small number of doctor visits of patients with cold in East Meria? The author presumes that the consumption of plant beneficia is the reason for the low frequency of doctor visits for cold reasons in East Meria. However, it is possible that the weather in East Meria is consistently hot which makes it less likely for people to catch cold. Additionally, it is possible that the people of East Meria prefer household measures to cure cold rather than seeing a doctor. If any of these cases holds true, the author's contention in the argument is heavily hampered.

In conclusion, the author may be correct with his prediction regarding the reduction in absenteeism in schools and colleges. However, as it stands now, the prediction rests on three unwarranted assumptions which hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of this argument, he needs to answer the questions mentioned above.