Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

In today's cosmopolitan world, technological innovations are an indispensable part of it. But we should be cautious enough to know the consequences of these break-throughs. I agree with the assertion that scientists and researchers should focus more on the areas, where most of our population can benefit rather than helping out a specific class or group of people through their inventions. Following are two reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Firstly, we live in a world which is majorly driven by the top few powerful people, which define the path in which our society as whole would be moving. They provide us with the temptation of progress, and tantalising us with a better standard of living. While their reasoning is attractive, but on the ground-level it ignores a large section of society which is, even in twentieth century, fighting to put food in their stomach. The scientific research should be primarily driven by the aim of providing a decent and acceptable standard of living for all. The technological advancements, no matter how sophisticated and exorbitant they are, should be accessible to all irrespective of the economic class they belong to. For instance, there are specific initiatives which are working hard to solve the practical problems of food, homelessness and education. Like, during Covid-19 period firms were trying to make vaccines available at lower costs, so that it could be afforded by the developing countries. The authorities should also encourage the research programs, privately or publicly founded, which focuses on providing long-term solutions to the more pragmatic problems. Thus, having a great influence on the major chunk of the population which remains ignored.

Secondly, history has proved that the scientific breakthroughs more frequent to occur during wars. The programs funded to create weapons on mass destruction, which are not only responsible for fatality of millions of people, but also hamper our planet. The amount of money spent on these programs, just a means to show military muscle, should be deviated to a more fruitful research. For example, Manhattan Project undertaken by USA during World War II to drop nuclear bombs on Japan, not only cause cataclysmic destruction but also affected the future generations and environment through toxic radiations. Therefore, concentrating our focus on a progressive approach and sustainable development would be helpful for our planet and consequently to the major population.

Thirdly, some may argue that, just focussing in the betterment of people belonging to the lower economic groups would hamper the scientific and technological development. Like, spending billions of money on space explorations, when our a major part of our society does not have food to eat. Thus, we should be more considerate with our priorities.

Conclusively, we should be narrowing our research areas towards innovations which would be salutary to majority of the population.