The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College it is stated that, Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories.It is supported by the recent upward trend in average rent for an apartment in the town.However, this belief is based on several ungrounded premises whihc should be addressed with sound evidences before any action is taken.

First of all, the author should provide evidence that the enrollment in Buckingham college will double in the next 50 years. It might be the case that the recent trends may be insignificant in the long run and the overall enrollments may remain the same. Also, it is possible that new colleges may come up in the neighbouring region reducing the students per college. It is Also possible that students might prefer these other new colleges over buckingham college. The author needs to provide evidence regarding the predicted rise, Perhaps in the student population in the form of Scientific research study.

Second of all, the author should provide more information about the average rent and how it has risen quantitatively. Perhaps the average rent for apartments in the town are still very economical for students. It may also be also be the case that the average rent in the town is not representative of the rent in the apartments that students prefer live in. Maybe, the average has been skewed to a higher value due to some new luxury apartments which might have been constructed at the edge of the town, not occupied by students due to large distance and consequently prolonged commuting times. The author needs to present some evidence to support his claim that apartment rents have risen to a point where they are out of the budgets of majority of the students.

Lastly, the author assumes that new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to choose Buckingham over other colleges. However, this might not be the case, it is possible that other factors might be more important to choose colleges. Perhaps students prioritize job opportunities and teaching faculty more than any other factor, Since most of them might want to get a job after graduating from college. The author needs to confirm through a scientific survey that students have new dormitories as the deciding factor while enrolling for a college for his argument to hold water.

In conclusion, It is possible that stundent enrollment may increase and consequently, Buckingham college should build new dormitories. However, unless evidence is provided for the aforementioned, The arguement as it stands now is considerably flawed and it is neccessary to provide more evidence to evaluate the argument and decide the course of action.