the letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine it is stated that Manned space flight is costly and dangerous and should therefore, be supplanted by unmanned space flight

In the letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine it is stated that Manned space flight is costly and dangerous and should therefore, be supplanted by unmanned space flight. The conclusion drawn are supported by the recent success of the unmanned space missions which are assumed to be less costly and dangerous than manned missions. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, Two unstated assumptions must be accounted for.

First of all, are manned space flight more costly than their unmanned contemporaries? it is possible that manned missions are in fact cheaper than unmanned ones due requirement of less automation . Perhaps, automating the data collection or sampling in unmanned missions can give rise to exorbitant development costs. The same tasks of data collection might be performed by the human counterparts more cheaply and effectively. Perhaps robots might need to be developed and tested for performing even simple tasks which might extend the development period and give rise to huge costs associated with sustaining the development cycle of such a project and make the project unfeasible. Further unmanned space probes might require frequent and costly maintenance and upgrades, if either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second of all, is the amount of information captured by the unmanned probe justifiable in relation to the cost?, perhaps, a human might be able to better capture the information using basic instruments. he might be able to account for and correct errors which the an unmanned probe might not have been trained for due to cost constraints. Also, as it boils down to the scientist to draw reasonable conclusions from the data collected, A human might be able to get better insight on the data collected when he's on field rather than in lab several days later. Space missions are complex and it is not uncommon for faults to occur. Perhaps the unlike humans, the unmanned probe won’t be able to detect faults and correct them. This might lead to inefficiencies. if either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument does not hold water.

In conclusion the argument as is stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to present evidence to warrant these assumptions (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to deem manned space flight as costly and dangerous and invest resources in unmanned space flight.