Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim mentioned above states that the emeregence of online blogosphere that is the ability for different individuals to write blogs and express their opinions on various issues or topics has weakened the quality of political discourse in united states. There are several reasons which can be stated to prove that the claim is not correct in certain situations.

Firstly, Blogging helps people to put forward their opinions on various topics of general interests. There can be different view points or take of every individual about an issue that is happening. So, this blogosphere allows people to show the world about what they think of the situation and how can it be handled according to their idea or suggestions.

Secondly, the reason stated to support the claim tells that if people are allowed to publish political opinion, then the standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline. Despite the fact that this publishing of opinion in the form of blogging can also help to find out some facts about the issue that would otherwise have remained concealed is not considered here. For Instance, if a crime happens in a locality and the police comes for the investigation in the crime scene it may be possible that any witness of the crime would not open his or her mouth in public. But if the person post details about the crime in blogs by keeping himself anonymous and providing evidence to the police about the event. This could help police to catch the culprit and punish him. This is the other side of the blogosphere that can be of great help for nation.

Thirdly, these blogging platform can help the citizens to provide transparency about the political events that is happening around the country. People attending these events or covering these events can post details about the event in the form of the blogs and let everyone know about what is happening and in this way transparency can be increased in the political process.People can also express their opinions about the different events and this can also inturn help the officials to change or make decisions based on the public's view on the particular issue. This is actually working in a bidirectional manner as it is helping the citizens on the one side to know facts about the political events and on the other side it is helping the political officials to take decisions that is in the best interest for the people who elected them.

In the conclusion, the only point that I would like to put forward is that the claim made is flawed and it is providing a view that is not correct and the reason which has been put forward to support the claim is also lacking evidences. So, this claim is open for debate and there are many more evidences that can be put forward to show that the claim is flawed.