Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political t

The author has stated that the expansion of blogs and social media usage has enabled people to express their political views online openly. It has lead to a decline in the quality of political discourse in the United States. This view is completely biased against freedom of expression in the online world.

The people of the United States have a fundamental right to express their opinion and choices on any platform, be that in person or online through blogs and social media. Everyone has their own opinions regarding politics and they are free to express it. Preventing them to do so is a violation of the basic human rights granted by the constitution of the USA.

The author claims that political posts online have weakened the quality of political discourse. This is not true as the mainstream media has been in the pockets of political power for a long time. The TV shows and news are tailored to suit the political agenda of the powerful people and they don't let the people know the whole side of the story. Whereas, blogs and social media posts are not affiliated with any political party and show different sides to the same story. The reader gets a choice to form their own opinion and choose their own side.

In the 2008 elections of South Carolina, the mainstream media was focusing on glorifying the charming Mr. Charles Doyle and his various golden promises. The residents adored him and were ready to cast their votes for his favor. But thanks to a group of intellectuals, Mr. Doyle's dark history was uncovered and posted online for the world to see. Mainstream media tried to ignore and suppress the story, but the story caught on and the state was saved from a grave mistake.

The claims made by the author are partially untrue, if not completely, as one is supposed to have better judgment and trust while reading the posts and watching videos online. One should know which source is trustworthy and which is completely biased. But blogs and social media do play an important role in forming an honest opinion about politics in the United States, and they will still continue to do so.