Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Education is the biggest asset that a country can have, and students are the largest currency. A college is like a temple to the students, where they learn not only the academics, but also how to grow and prosper. To these students, universities are like a second home, where they spend a crucial part of their life. Any laws mandating a change in universities, particularly the ones affecting the students, should be reviewed and contemplated thoroughly, as those will affect a huge part of the country's population and economy in the long run. Universities requiring every student to take up courses outside their field of study, though it may prove beneficial for some, in the long run, will have huge detrimental effects. In the future, this practice will become a roadblock in any aspiring college student.

In schools, students are required to take up varying courses as they should be comfortable with the basic knowledge of human lifestyle and sciences. That knowledge helps them throughout their life. But when he chooses to attend a college, he makes up his mind to follow a particular stream, may it be a particular branch of science, or medical, or in arts. Having the knowledge gained in his school days on varying topics, it is sufficient for him to live a comfortable life while focusing on his branch of study in college. Other subjects not related to his field of study will only hamper his performance as there will be pressure on him to perform well in all subjects, even in those of which he will have no use in the future and will most probably forget everything he learned about in a year.

Definitely, there are some fields of study where the student can benefit from diverse knowledge, like journalism, arts, music, etc. where a broad mind is required to excel. Many pioneers in such fields made their name by experiencing something different and applying that knowledge in their field. But, some fields of study require a more focussed mindset, like medical, engineering, law, etc. In such fields, mandating the students to take up courses outside their subject area will prove harmful for their performance. As their course content is vast enough for them to cover all the topics, forcing them to study materials outside their field will have a severe effect on their minds.

If this rule is mandated across all universities, the performance graph may show a positive spike temporarily. But in the long run, it will have a hugely adverse effect on higher education. Students will be discouraged to follow a stream that requires a focussed knowledge on its topics, as it will be difficult for them to have the time and mindset to concentrate on the field. Also, the success ratios in such fields will be reduced, thus putting a negative impression on aspiring students' minds. They will be attracted more towards fields of study where diverse knowledge will actually prove useful and will help their performance. This will result in a deficit of focussed study students and graduates. Such a case could be seen in the real-world when Hong Kong University in 2004 mandated their students to take up at least 3 courses outside their field of study. Initially, the students followed their choice of field, despite the new rule. But, around 2007, the number of students taking arts and journalism saw a huge rise and engineering and medical students became rare to find. High school graduates began taking admissions in different universities where diverse courses were not mandatory. In 2009, they reverted this rule and by 2010, the students' ratio was restored to as was pre-2004.

Such rules if made into a mandatory law can have severe effects in any community, where education is considered a huge economic asset. Diverse knowledge is definitely useful for broadening a mind, but forcing a student to get out of this comfort zone will also definitely have a negative effect on him. It should be left on their choice if they want to take up varying courses as they know the best about their future. As after all, their future is the country's future.