A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

School learning is a crucial part of a student's education. It forms a base for the decision of which higher education path the student wants to follow. It should be informative as well as entertaining so that it is easier to get a grasp on the basics which would actually help the person his whole life. While mandating a national curriculum nation-wide for schools may seem beneficial initially, it will have tremendous adverse effects in the education ecosystem in the long run.

Forcing the students of a nation to follow a standard syllabus will prohibit exploratory learning and quench their imagination. It would not let them be innovative by thinking outside the box. A fixed curriculum will also lead to mundane work for the teachers, teaching the same fixed syllabus repeatedly year after year. It will severely hamper with the minds of the future of the nation.

A country is a huge place with a gigantic population. Such a population is definitely going to have a diverse culture and their own ethics. These are passed on to new generations through primary education, particularly in pre-schools and mid-schools. Fixing the curriculum will have no space for cultural awareness and will eventually lead to lost heritages. It will be a terrible loss for a nation and humanity as well.

Such a case could be seen in 1983 India, a time when education was booming in the rural areas. The Indian government mandated a strict national curriculum to be followed along with a standard language for education, English. This led to a temporary boost in students' performance nationally. But in the years to come, the people started to notice that their kids started showing disdain for education and had trouble memorizing their local languages and ethics. India being a hugely diverse country, could not afford this loss. The government immediately softened the noose around this law and gave freedom to teach extra subjects to be decided by the schools.

Any law prohibiting the scope of education should be thoroughly pondered upon and past cases must be considered before being implied. It can irreversibly a country's greatest economic asset. Such a thing would definitely happen if it is required for pre-college education to follow a national curriculum.