Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Researching on foreign tribes and their lifestyle has long been a fascination with human studies. It requires intensive knowledge of human history. It takes a huge amount of time and effort to understand the lifestyle and traditions of these tribes. That is why it is a difficult field to work upon. The recommendation by some anthropologists to conduct interview-centered methods for future researches on Tertian child-rearing practices based on Dr. Karp's conclusion is not reasonable as it is based on vague terminologies and not backed by enough evidence.

Dr. Field conducted his research on the Tertian culture twenty years ago. Then the next observation was made by Dr. Karp recently. Clearly, there is a huge time gap between the two observations. In such a long duration, the tribe may have changed their habits significantly to cause a discrepancy between the two observations. There is no mention of any other research in between the time gap, which hints that the tribes may not we studied sufficiently to form such a conclusion. Also, the terminologies used by the author in this argument is vague. "Observation-centred" and "Interview-centred" methods should have been explained to give the claims more credibility.

The author states that Dr. Karp used an interview-centered method to study the Tertian tribe's child-rearing practices. By stating that the children talked more about their biological parents than other adults, Dr. Karp invalidated Dr. Field's conclusion. It's definitely possible that the children were taught about the importance of their parents and they may even be supposed to worship them, a tradition that is still prevalent in many developed communities. Thus, discussing more about their parents doesn't necessarily mean that the children were taught only by their parents. Also, it is not specified by the author how many children were interviewed and also if he interviewed the children from different islands or the same island. As traditions may change from island to island, Dr. Karp's observations cannot be given credibility without knowing the details of his research. The author should inform more about Dr. Karp's work on the islands in his argument.

As was evident earlier, much research has not been done on the Tertia tribe and the researches span over a long time. So, stating the past conclusion and its derivation method as invalid on the basis of only 1 observation is highly unwise. Recommending a particular method for future researches based on that particular observation is a bigger mistake. As is proven in the history of mankind, to understand a particular subject, different observations and diverse methods have proven highly beneficial when compared to a focussed method of observations. Thus the recommendation made by the anthropologists that to obtain accurate information on Tertial child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method is highly discouraging and should not be followed.