Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The stated claim that leaders in businesses, politics, education, government, etc. should be changed every five years and its reason that it is the most definitive path to success, does sound inspiring and also may be true in some cases. But, in real-world scenarios, it may not be profitable at all. It is true that a newly appointed person brings a fresh mind and out of the box thinking to the table, but the time and resources needed to find the perfect match, along with the time needed to get accustomed to the new position may bear a cost too painful for the organization.

A person who has been leading an organization has had years of experience in working under its roof. He has hands-on working knowledge of multiple functions of the company: its aims, its operations, its growth strategy and many such things that are necessary to be learned by a successful leader. It takes time and lots of effort to excel in all these matters. But according to the claim, if the leader is mandated to step down and a new person be given his place, it will take a lot of time and effort for the new person to get accustomed to the position. During the time period of this transition, the organization may undergo severe consequences which could have been handled efficiently by the leader, had he continued to be so.

If the change of leadership every 5 years is made mandatory, nobody would be encouraged to aspire for that position. There would not be any job stability. Also knowing that the person would be replaced in a fixed time period, would not yield the optimum profit, had the person been assured of his position for the long term. Employees would yearn for positions beneath leaders which would guarantee them stability with the highest compensation. Eventually, there would be a dearth of leaders and a plethora of assistants. This would lead to a downfall of any organization.

In 2003, a multinational company Xinpieng Corporative in China made it mandatory for its Hong Kong headquarter to revitalize its leaders (Presidents, Vice Presidents, and some Chief Officers) every 4 years. In the first few years, the profits soared due to new hires, and their out of the box ideas. The company was under the impression that this decision has hugely successful and planned to implement it on all of its branches worldwide. Unfortunately, around 2011, they started to notice a lack of motivation among its employees to get promotions. Instead, they started joining other organizations. Also, new hirings for senior positions were hard to come by. Eventually, they rolled back their decision and focussed on promoting employees' well being. The setback was huge, but it was finally overcome in years.

A question arises here, that if the current leadership is already adequate and is producing profitable yield, is there necessarily a need to replace it after its completion of 5 years in the role? It does have an adverse effect on the minds of the employees and the work environment of the company. Maybe this claim was based on organizations having leaders enjoying their position without being a valuable asset. In such cases, it is necessary for a fresh hire, but making it mandatory is not the right step. Also, the time period of 5 years is too little for a new person to get their knowledge on the level of their predecessor. Thus, this claim and its reason can be misleading if trusted blindly.