Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Governing a population is definitely a difficult job. Political leaders are chosen by the people to do so because they respect them, they trust them, and most importantly, they believe in them. They are elected in the hopes that they would bring an end to the problems in the life of the common people. For doing so, they need to be kind, trustworthy and headstrong. A good leader is defined by how strong he stays with his principles. They must stick with their objectives and promises made while asking the people to elect them. Them showing sings of swaying away from their principles will show only weakness on their part.

Political leaders have their own agendas when they stand for elections. They are transparent and in contrast with the agendas of opposing leaders so that the voters can decide who will be fit for governing them by contemplating upon whose agenda suits their needs in a better way. If during governance, the people in power start changing their agendas, then the voters start losing their trust in them. It leads to losing faith in the political system as a whole, which is disastrous for a state. Sticking to their principles is crucial for the people in power to keep the trust of the voters.

A population to govern is mostly a diverse population. There are many different needs and wants which may even be in contrast with each other. The majority of the population having similar needs elect a leader of their choice who makes promises aligned to their demands. Minorities may have different demands and expectations from them. If the leader during his power starts listening to the minorities and starts compromising with his promises made to the majority of the population, there will be an equally unhappy population of all sides. Being headstrong is a necessary trait in this state as the problems of a major section of the population need to be fixed before fixing others.

It is true that listening to public opinions is necessary as it changes with time and circumstances. A leader keeping his head down and doing as his heart desires while ignoring the pleas of the population is hazardous. Following one's own principles is arduous. Some cases may arise when for the sake of compromise, leaders may have to forego their principles. But frequent compromises lead to a lack of trust and respect in the political scenario.

As stated earlier, a headstrong leader is necessary for leading a population and treating their problems. Surely, some cases may arise when compromises are to be made for the greater good. But it must be avoided as far as possible to maintain the trust of the people who elected them.