Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

The author has claimed that opening a store of Nature's Way in Plainsville will prove to be very successful. He has given some reasons to support his claim which seems convincing enough. But as one goes through the lines thoroughly, he can easily find that the author's claims are based on various unwarranted pieces of evidence and vague terminologies. This makes the statement made by the author hard to believe.

Firstly the author claims that Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where the residents lead healthy lives. Residents leading healthy lives is a subjective matter. It depends on how one perceives as healthy, so it varies among person to person. On what grounds was Plainsville decided to be a town of health enthusiasts would have helped. Also, information regarding the number of franchises that were successful after opening, along with the lifestyle of the people living in those towns would have helped to solidify the argument more profusely.

Then the author vaguely claims that the merchants of Plainsville report all-time high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing, to support his argument. Reports like these can be fabricated by the merchants to further their cause as no detailed information, like previous sales record vs current sales, are not provided. Also, buying health equipments doesn't prove that the people of the town are more health-conscious than before. It may also mean that the health products are being exported in a greater quantity. Thus basing the argument on such a claim is a weak attempt by the author.

Another claim that the author has based his argument upon is that the local health clubs have more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We have no knowledge of the number of health clubs or weight training and aerobics classes in Plainsville. Also, how many members were before and by how much has it changed recently? The change might even actually be insignificant. There may also be a case that some other health clubs and classes may have shut down to lead to such an influx of members in existing clubs and classes. Many details are left unspecified by the author which could actually have strengthened his argument.

It is easy to agree that Plainsville seems like a town with health-conscious citizens, and that a Nature's Way outlet may profit there. But accepting it on just vague assumptions and no proof will be a mistake. The author has made a weak argument by not providing any facts or past instances to support his claim. Opening an outlet in this town can prove to be a huge burden to the company, and may even lead to irrecoverable loss. Thus, further reports and informations are required before one should go further with this plan.