A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is the biggest asset of a nation and students are the most valuable currency. Schools are the building blocks of a nation's future where students take their first step towards building a better country. Any laws changing the way these building blocks work should be contemplated and analyzed thoroughly before being implemented. Mandating all schools to teach the same national curriculum to the students until they reach college will be a grave mistake if implemented. It will not only affect the students, but it will also affect the whole country in the long run.

A nation is a huge place. It has several states and numerous localities. A huge number of communities exist in a country, especially when a country is large and open to diversity. Different areas have different languages, several dialects, and their own traditions. It becomes difficult for the students to give up their local knowledge and start learning everything from scratch. It will hamper with their goals and put more stress in their education.

Local languages and traditions are an immeasurable wealth of a nation. These are passed on to the next generations through early education, particularly in schools. A nation should promote its diversity, instead of quenching it. Requiring the students to learn from a standard nation-wide curriculum will lead to lost heritage. There will be no one knowing their mother tongue and their traditions will be long forgotten. This will come up as a huge loss for the nation and its people.

A law similar to the claim was passed in India in 1963, mandating all mid schools to follow a national curriculum strictly. Initially, it resulted in a stellar economic growth in 15 years, but by the 1990s the local culture and traditions started getting forgotten. Local languages were replaced by Hindi. Such a loss was too great for the nation and the law was reverted in 1995, which thankfully restored the diversity throughout the country.

It is true that a national standard for education must be set throughout a country, but mandating it will have hugely detrimental effects in the future. It should be optional for the schools to follow the curriculum, as it will be the students and their parents' decision to choose their education path.