The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial from Parkville Daily newspaper, the author recommends that Parkville should discontinue organizing its athletic competitions for children below the age of nine due to the number of injured children, an aberration from academic activities, and players psychological pressure because of these activities. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, four questions need to be answered.

First of all, are all the youth-league sports of competition are causing injuries to the players? there can be some games which might cause physical injuries to the children, but we don't know anything about this in the information provided by the author. A survey can be carried upon the type of games causing health issues and injuries to the players before discontinuing organized athletic competitions for all the games.

Secondly, the author mentions that over 40,00 young players suffered from injuries, without revealing any information on the total sample size of the survey. Is it really a big number? it can be from out of 50,000 or 4,000,000. In the latter case, the percentage of injuries caused by these sports are not highly significant for this ban.

Thirdly, can academic or indoor activities compensate for outdoor activities? Without performing any outdoor activity or sport, children might get into more health troubles having after youth effects. The opinions of education experts who have an objection on athletic activities due to the time it takes, as they believe it cuts out the time from academics. However, the author fails to recognize that other education experts argue that sports play a vital role in children's education and development. Sports teach discipline, time management, commitment, problem-solving skills, healthy competition, teamwork and friendship, which plays an important role in a person life.

Finally, does the psychological pressure causing any harm to the players? the author fails to mention the effects of the psychological pressure caused by sports, which may not be a harmful thing for the children. A little pressure on children of the age below nine can bring some positive aspects to their attitude, behaviour, and efficiency. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is mostly flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the four questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to discontinue organized athletic competition.