A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to the author, it's beneficial for the nation to allow it's students to follow the same curriculum throughout the nation. While this claim assures a certain same level of education to students all over the country, it has a lot of drawbacks associated with it as well. Essentially, barring few positive points, I do not agree with this ideology.

If a common national curriculum is meant for all the students, the onus of structuring that curriculum falls on the few federal employees. If such employees do not entertain the inputs of various teachers and educationalists from all the parts of the nation, the curriculum will fail to give a well-designed knowledge to the students. Moreover, such federal influence can lead to promotion of a party-specific propaganda. Worse still, with changing ruling powers, the essential facts mentioned in the textbooks of the students will change. Hence, along with an additional chaos and confusion, it is equally possible that the students are altogether deprived of the actual facts of subjects such as social sciences, literature.

Another factor that should be a part of a school curriculum is the impact of regional factors such as culture, history, language etc. A national curriculum will only focus on the historical events significant from a national perspective or a spoken/written language important for national and international communication. In such a situation, the students will be unaware of the important aspects of their own local culture. With time, this can lead to dying out of these aspects of the society. Thus, a slight modification or addition in the national curriculum unique to each and every local area can be helpful in maintaining the importance of the same.

On the other hand, there are also some advantages of following a single national curriculum until the students reach college. It will allow an equivalent intellectual growth of all the students and unbiasedly prepare them for various college-level entrance competitions. But again, the major question about the absolute value or level of the knowledge gained by this method still holds unanswered. Only if a government-body appointed with the consent of parents as well as teachers continuously monitors the syllabus of this curriculum and gives time-to-time feedbacks, the quality of a national curriculum can be assured.

To sum up, the educational aspects of a nation cannot be completely determined by a single authority. Therefore, a single national curriculum by such an authority will fail to fulfil the intellectual requirements for its students. In fact, an extensive group of minds are required to comprehend the necessities of curriculum to be taught to the students. Their knowledge can only be enhanced when all the aspects of local as well as national importance are imbibed in their textbooks.