Formal educational credentials should be the most important factor in hiring employees.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above opinion. Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

Should formal educational credentials of a candidate be the decisive factor for his/her hiring? While many recruiters as well as recruitees believe that an exceptional resume is the key to getting a job offer, others believe in jugding a candiate's potential by a personal interview. I strongly believe that the educational credentials do not always justify the knowledge or suitability of a candidate for the job, and therefore it should not be the most important or decisive factor for hiring.

Consider some of the candidates that do not belong to premium colleges or who do not have very high cumulative grade points. However, it is only unjustified to relate their knowledge of job-required skills based on these factors. In many cases, the students do not secure high GPAs that account for their overall scores in all the subjects, but show immence potential and in-depth understanding of the subjects of their interest. When the job requirements consist of such a skill-set, these students can offer best candidature as opposed to someone who is merely good in all the subjects.

Another instance where educational credentials do not represent the actual potential of candidates are the jobs, in which a refined oral communication skill is required. For example, when hiring a salesman or a marketing representive for a company, the academic qualifications do not play as important role as the ability of the person to articulate the company services and products to its current and potential customers. This case also applies when hiring teachers and college professors. Many-a-times, individuals immensly knowledgeable are not able to share or transfer it to their students. On the other hand, a relatively less talented professor can make a subject more interesting by his/her amazing interaction skills.

Contrary to these circumstances, there are however situations in which it is easier and quite essential to disparate candidates based on their educational credentials. Employeers might be receiving hundreds or thousands of applications for the mentioned job openings. In such a case, it becomes quite cumbersome for them, to interview each and every potential candidate. During such a pickle, separating or firstly evaluating their resume turns out be a viable solution. A person with high educational credential is more probable to be skilled in the required areas.

Summing up the above mentioned examples, it can be concluded that educational credentials do not completely represent the skill-set of a candidate. Hence, the hiring employers should also interview their candiates and then make a judicious decision of hiring employees among them. Having said that, educational creadits do represent some of the skills or scholarly attributes of candiates and can be considered for initial references.