Governments should hire accomplished filmmakers to create films that deliver important public messages.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above opinion. Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

Can important public messages be delivered by the medium of films? If yes, then who are most apt for delivering such messages? Some would argue that in order to raise concern about vital issues in the public, accomplished filmmakers should be given the task to sending out the public messages. On the contrary, other can state that one need not be necessarily skilled in the craft of filmmaking for making content that resonates with the society. In my opinion, government should not make their choice of a propent of their message solely based on his/her craft related skills.

With the increasing impact of social media in today's techonological world, it is relatively easier for any government to deliver the important public messages. In fact, the advent of social networking sites such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter have provided a platform for any common man to speak out his/her mind. Many NGOs and social activists are spreading awareness regarding numerous problems faced by a certain part of the society or the universe as a whole. If the governments finds innovative ways of collaborating with people involved with such NGOs or social activists, they can ensure their reach to a larger mass. Adopting such methods will also reduce the expenses for delivering public messages, and help in their in turn use for mitigation of related issues.

Another important factor is the basic criteria required for making content that can have a mass appeal and also state its relevancy to the public. For such a case, rather than focusing on the delivering messages using accomplished filmmakers, the government should deploy someone with a proper knowledge of these messages. Any person who has done adeqaute research on the required subject can undoubtedly offer more towards the project. Moreover, someone who empathizes with these public messages and himself/herself feels a dire need for its reach to the public, will put his/her soul into accomplishing the task. On the other hand, a filmmaker might be just interested in conveying the story as an entertainment and eventually, lose the seriousness of the message.

However, there are certain advantages in hiring accomplished filmmakers to fulfil the task. Some of these filmmakers have an immense knowledge of their craft as well as the psyche of their audience. They are well aware of the little nuances and manners in which things should be potrayed, for them to strike the right chords with their viewers. During such instances, the motive of the government in creating such public messages gets satisfactorily fulfilled. But such ideal situations are not always true and many-a-times the films only remain as an unrelatable story.

To sum up these examples, the government should look for people with larger mass appeal, social activists, and empathetic souls to allow their messages to be reached to the public. Appointing an accomplished filmmaker does not guarantee a proper conveyance or reach to the general public.