Archaeologists have long thought that an artifact called the pemchint was used by Dodecan people solely as a musical instrument. Pemchints consist of hollowed pieces of bone, shell, or wood that are tied together with long straps. When whirled in the air, the pemchints create pleasant tones. Until recently, pemchints were found only at locations known to be used for Dodecan rituals and celebrations. Additionally, they were always excavated in proximity to other musical artifacts. Recently, however, a pemchint was found along with Dodecan hunters' tools located miles from the nearest known Dodecan settlement, while no other music-related objects were found in the area. Clearly, then, the pemchint was used by Dodecan hunters, who most probably used the sounds to repel dangerous wildlife.

The author suggests that the recent findings of pemchint at locations far away from Dodecan settlement with no other musical instruments nearby is a compelling evidence for its role in hunting. He futher hypothesizes that the sound of pemchint was used for keeping the dangerous wildlife away from the hunters. However, these conclusions are based on presumptions that are not clearly validated.

The takeaways from previous archaeological excavations are dependent on preconceived notions. The logic behind defining a location belonging to rituals and celebrations is missing from the study. One needs to state the factors that are involved in such definition. Earlier hunters celebrated the capture of their wildlife hunts. There is no evidence to prove that these celebrations could not be a part of the Dodecan settlement as well.

In addition to it, the statement that pemchints were only found near other music artifacts is also flawed. Firstly, the author does not provide any light on the basis behind deciding an excavation site. Hence, one can doubt the conviction of the archeologists for excavating only near settlements and most rewarding places. There is no mention about any efforts made by them for excavating at places far away from the Dodecan settlement.Their approach towards consolidating the potential excavation sites is also questionable.

Lastly, the author assumes that the sound of pemchants was used for frightening the dangerous wild animals. However, this assumption cannot be held true without any substantial evidence. There can be a possibility that the sound made by pemchants was just used as a lesiure activity between the hunts. On the other hand, the knowlegde of the effect of this sound on various animals should be more comprehensive inorder to come to a conclusion.

Thus, the conclusions made by the author are ignorant at the best at various levels. Once the different important factors are accounted for, a rather plausible explanation could be found for the recent findings of pemchants far away from the Dodecan settlements. Their connection with the previous studies can also be explored with a better understanding.