Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity..

The speaker unreasonably concludes that the use of stairs increases people's health and longevity.The statement provided is irrational,unsubstantial.Unless provides the clear information with analysis about the people using stairs and the number of people using elevators and related statistics this argument can't be a cogent argument.

Firstly,the speaker fails to give the information about the recent study which he refers to.How did the studies provide a link between health and stairs usage?

The recently completed study refers in months or years?.On what basis did the study explain about people who live in stairs-only buildings without elevators like longer than three years on average when compared to the one's using elevator and also stairs.It can't be proved that all the people use elevator some might prefer upstairs.Such details could add a requisite information to support the argument.

Secondly,The speaker has to clearly stated data about the study where the numbers of residents visiting the doctors in both the cases.This could give us a clear idea on an average who is more consulting the doctors.If the exact number is not provided how can the average be calculated.The term several doctors refers to how many numbers?The residents of stair-only buildings scores are calculated on what basis?The health conditions such as fitness,sleep quality are taken only by the patients who visit the hospital what about the one's which do not ever visit?How can the speaker come to a conclusion that they scored the higher than the average when there is no detailed number of patients.

Thirdly,The term susceptibility to injury refers to what kind of injury?is it because of the stairs or due to elevators if so what kind of injuries are faced by the people.And also the patients are of same age or each of different ages is also not mentioned.How can the speaker conclude that people who use stairs are healthy and what if the most of the people use stairs instead of elevators still are unhealthy.There can be a chance that only elders are allowed to use the elevators rest all people use stairs.As it is not mentioned clearly such kind of details add an advantage to support the argument.

To sum up,As there is no detailed information on the number of people using the stair case and elevators and the age group of patients who visit doctors who rated the health status.Henceforth,such details would help the argument more eloquent and as the speaker failed to give such requisite information this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.