College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is claimed that the college students should be encouraged to seek or learn subjects for their interest as opposed to subjects that can land them jobs. Although, this claim does not hold in all the situations, I agree with the author during all the other circumstances.

With the increasing competition among the students for getting high-paying jobs, it is only essential for them to work towards acing the interviews for the same. In order to do so, they need to have a crystal clear understanding of the basics of subjects or courses helping them in fulfilling pre-requisites for their job profiles. Hence, if a student is fully aware of his/her predilections towards a specific job profile, it's beneficial for them to study those courses.

However, in most of the cases, the students do not have a complete understanding of their desires and inclinations. They need a comprehensive introspection of their favorites streams or fields to conclusively decide their future endeavours. During these circumstances, the claim as stated by the author holds fully true. When such students are encouraged to pursue subjects of their likings, they naturally find it more interesting. On the other hand, if they go with the crowd and force feed themselves with the knowledge they find difficult to comprehend, they will only end up further decreasing their chances of acing the related job interviews. If they focus on their interests and imbibe knowledge related to it, they can surely succeed in the interviews meant for those job areas.

Other examples favouring this claim are the numerous research studies that suggest a higher success rate of the students that follow their heart and not the society. While peer pressure as well as parental pressure can lead them to different career paths, they fail to succeed in the same. One of the great examples of such a scenario is Albert Einstein. Due to various financial issues and monetary requirements of his family, he was forced to work as a clerk in a small company. Even though he considered the job demeaning to his intellect, the money prevented him from leaving it. However, the continued irritation from such a job propelled him to leave it and rather work towards his scholarly interests. One cannot imagine the progress of the scientific world without his unparalleled contributions. If he had kept working as a clerk, he would have been able to become such a great scientist.

In a nutshell, it can be concluded that every student might be wishing to get a job after his academic career and therefore works for it from an early stage of academics. However, they fail to acknoweldge their strengths by being unconsiderate towards their interests. As a result, if they are encouraged to pursue their interests in place of job landing courses, they can choose their career paths in a more promising way.