College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

With the development of higher education, students and their parents have been more and more concerned about the majors to choose for university. Some people believe that it is more important to base on interests when making this decision, while opponents contend that the potential career development ought to be the essential factor because it would be more lucrative to take on jobs in such fields after the student graduates. Yet I would concur with the perspective that the enthusiasm towards a field should be the deterministic rationale in the pursuit of a higher education degree.

To begin with, what inspires people to work hard is normally not what others persuade them into doing, but what they like in the first place. Enthusiasm could precipitate rigorous dedication and great inspirations. Take Steve Jobs as an example, his love towards his design enabled him to stick with the meticulous requirements and hence the success of the Apple products.

Furthermore, higher education should shoulder the responsibility of cultivating social development rather than being profit-oriented. Consider the situation where Every student tries to pursue a curriculum in the most popular area, who will work on the other fundamental fields? Were students encouraged to only concentrate in the accounting area, who would be there to devote themselves to meaningful researches and human development?

Admittedly, some may argue that courses that are career-oriented would be conducive to the future development and life standard of a student. Nevertheless, since the world evolves and market oscillates every second, it is difficult to foresee which industry would thrive and offer more job opportunities when the students need to decide on their curricular path in the first year of university. For instance, before the financial crisis in 2008, students would compete fiercely for admission to business schools, hoping to graduate with one foot set inside the finance industry and work on the wall street. But things changed fast and after the bubble was popped, thousands of business students had their plans and dreams collapsed. Not long after, due to rapid technological development, people have become more predilected to choosing jobs and majors that are related to computer science and engineering. Consequently, suggestions regarding future industry trends could not be reliable enough to try changing the direction of one's future.

Succinctly speaking, concerning all the above-mentioned arguments, my stand on this view is that students should be encouraged and inspired to devote into subjects they feel excited about, rather than simply looking at a possible abundance of job opportunities of some fields.