Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the development of society, there has been a prevailing debate regarding the appropriate term duration for leaders in various fields. I would concur with the perspective that a five-year term would be apposite.

On one hand, people would be confused and chaos could be engendered if frequent changes take place in the leading offices. Normally when an accession happens, the policies and strategies would be redesigned. As a result, the time and energy devoted to the previous direction would be wasted. A higher overhead is also a possible outcome concerning the handing over of tasks and documents. Under the circumstances where the management team changes too quickly, clerks would be more concerned about keeping their job by observing every possible news than sincerely contributing to their work.

On the other hand, as mentioned in the topic, new leadership could be conducive by bringing refreshing ambitions towards the position. Consider the cases of political and judiciary leaders who have been reported as corrupted, it is alarming in how people could establish such a strong network during just a few years to trade justice impartiality for their own benefits. And many of them got away with the legal punishment under the cover of other powerful allies. Incidents like this could be forestalled if a long in-power term is prevented.

Moreover, a five-year term would be apt as a testing window for most policies, however revolutionary they are. Take the Roosevelt New Deal as an example, novel as it was, only a few years were needed to prove the efficacy of those regulations on the market. However, was Roosevelt given a shorter term of office, he might not have been able to successfully process the New Deal and stick with it until it worked. And a few more years in power could have corrupted his ambitions to pursue social improvement rather than his own interests.

Succinctly speaking, concerning all the above-mentioned rationales, I would champion the idea that leaders ought to step down after they had five years in power, due to the fact that neither a much longer nor a more brief duration would be benign.