The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

With the aim of forestalling colds and reducing related absences, the author advises people to maintain a daily dosage of Ichthaid intake. Nevertheless, while it may be true that decreasing the contraction of colds could lower absenteeism, the connection between the daily use of Ichthaid and a better health condition is not cogently justified in the given paragraph.

To begin with, the author believes people around East Meria are healthier based on the fact that they have a low frequency of doctor visit. However, this claim cannot be concluded before several possibilities are ruled out. Chances are that people in East Meria have such low income that visiting the doctor once a year is already luxurious and they only go to the doctor when it is urgent and necessary. Another probable rationale would be that, since East Meria is a rural area where the number of doctors is insufficient, citizens need to make appointments long before and wait in line for several months until the meeting.

Moreover, given that these two phenomena come along with each other, the author fallaciously regards the correlation between a substantial consumption of fish and fewer circumstances of cold as a causal connection. Many other causes could have precipitated the low rate of cold. If the climate in East Meria is affable and local residents enjoy a stable temperature throughout the year, without the need for air-conditioning in summer or the heating system in the winter to aggravate infections, it is likely that prevalence of cold could be largely avoided. In addition, citizens in East Meria might lead a healthier lifestyle, compared with West Meria. Their persistence on a balanced diet and regular exercises could be the main factor contributing to their wellness, rather than the habit of fish consumption.

Last but not least, even it is true that a higher consumption in fish could lead to an improvement on health condition, the feasibility and efficacy of this suggestion to maintain a daily intake of Ichthaid is ungrounded. On one hand, without evidence that residents in West Meria have the financial capacity to consume an expensive extraction nutrient like Ichithaid, this recommendation does not hold a feasible ground. On the other hand, whether the effective compound inside fish is indeed Ichthaid is still debatable since a complex constitution of ingredients could be detected in a single fish dish.

Taking into account all these factors, it is evident that the author has not provided tenable and persuasive arguments to support the linkage between the daily consumption of fish and a reduction of susceptibility to cold, hence invalidating the recommendation that the nutritional supplement Ichthaid should be taken daily to reduce absenteeism.