The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The memo from the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council recommends the daily consumption of a supplement derived from fish oil as a prevention against colds to lower absenteeism in schools and workplaces. However, the given argument is strife with many holes and makes many unwarranted assumptions which are not convincing to the reader.

The council recommends the use of fish oil based on study reports from nearby East Meria. The validation of these reports is required and the details must be presented. Crucial information such as the number of people the study was carried out on, the lifestyles of the people, the geography of East Meria have to be analysed before determining if the solution is feasible in West Meria or not. A mere generalization of the two areas is highly inappropriate

Secondly, the type and the "amount" of fish consumed in East Meria is also not available in the argument, thereby raising doubts in the minds of the readers. There is not scientific evidence that the fish consumed in East Meria is safe for consumption by the people of the west and that there are no side effects to the consumption of such fish. This data is unavailable and it majorly weakens the argument.

Furthermore, the argument talks about the use of supplements in West Meria as opposed to the use of fish in the East. Supplement are no equivalent substitutes to whole foods and it is unclear how it can replace them. Additionally, the argument provides no information regarding those people who are actually averse to animal products and fails to provide any alternative for them.

Hence, a lack of credible information weakens the overall argument and fails to establish that the use of natural supplements derived from fish oil are a good prevention against colds.