Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In his Gettysburg address, Abraham Lincoln famously coined the expression-"a government of the people, by the people and for the people". Hence it is absolutely true that the leaders and rulers often have a great deal of expectations vested upon them and it is imperative the needs of their people are catered to. Be it a head of a state or a country or a captain of sports team, leaders will face an intimidating challenge in tending to various expectations and their success is gauged by how well they do so.

History has been a witness to many instances where kingdoms and countries have flourished and prospered because of how the their rulers have unified their people and at the same time there are also examples where the people's dissent has led to governments and monarchs getting toppled. For instance, world leaders like Barack Obama and Narendra Modi, who lead two of the biggest democracies in the world, are rated very highly for public satisfaction and contentment. Schemes like "Obamacare", advocacy of banning of sale of assault rifles and a strong stance on terrorism created a sense of made the American public happy and subsequently led to Obama's re-election as the President of the United States. Similarly, India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also known for many people friendly laws and reforms. Upliftment of the farmers, making payments digital, running a corruption free government and maintaining a strong defence and security policy are some of the many reasons believed to have led to his re-election as Prime Minister in 2019. At the same time, we should not forget how public resentment and discontent led to the Arab uprisings in the early 2010s. What started as anti-government protests and demonstrations against corruption, authoritarianism and oppressive regimes in Tunisia, gathered pace and immediately spread to the whole of North Africa. Some of the countries are still facing the repercussions like the Syrian Civil War which does not seem to come to an end.

A leader is not somebody who is always in the limelight and leads from the front. Many such leaders are also present behind the scenes with the burden of millions of expectations on their shoulders. A small example can be seen in the world of sports, where a manager or a coach of a team has to carry the weight of the demands and expectations of the management and the supporters. Although not directly involved with the game, he is judged solely based on how the team performs. A dip in results or supporters' dissatisfaction can immediately lead to his dismissal and this has been the norm for quite some time now.

To encapsulate, a leader has the daunting task of unifying his people and matching upto the expectations vested upon his shoulders by his people. And to quote Lincoln once again-"a government of the people, by the people and for the people, shall not perish".