The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument, an excerpt from a memo from the Director of Student Housing at Buckingham College, states that new dormitories have to be built by the college to accommodate and serve the housing needs of the increasing number of students. However, this argument in its current form is not convincing and lacks crucial information. The support given is weak and the argument makes too many unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the argument fails to establish how the college is going to "serve the needs" of the students by building more dormitories. There is no discerning evidence to prove that new dormitories would actually suffice the student requirements. Neither the requirements of the students nor are the services/amenities that will be provided by the dormitories are mentioned in the memo. Another major concern is that the specific needs of the students also vary from one to another and might not be catered to by just building dormitories. For example, some may prefer living alone while some may prefer living in groups. Such major factors have to be considered before making any decision on expanding the present setup.

Secondly, the argument makes a preposterous claim that the student count is going to double over the next 50 years without any supporting evidence . The increase in intake of a particular college depends upon many factors. It is possible that the curriculum and the services offered by the college appeals to the students at present, but in the coming decades it may lose its appeal and the students might choose other colleges. Maybe, at present, students do not have a choice to select from apart from Buckingham College but over the course of the next 50 years many new colleges can also spring up. There is also another eventuality where the college itself may cease to exist due to unexpected reasons. Or, it is also possible that the intake might be more than double of what is now and a mere expansion of its accommodation facilities may not be enough. Buckingham College might set up many more campuses and expand into other locations thereby making it easily accessible for students coming from afar and also reducing the burden on its main campus.

Thirdly , the recent trends regarding the surge in rates of off-campus housing are also questionable and need to be validated. Questions of many sorts arise to which there is no proof provided in the argument whatsoever. Questions such as - in what part of the town did the rent increase , what are the demographics of the town, did the rates increase in the areas where majority of the students are currently living, do students actually prefer living in such areas of the town where the rents are high- are bound to originate and require serious consideration.

Furthermore , claiming that building "attractive, new dormitories" would actually draw more student enrolments is outright absurd. Sure, accommodation facilities might be a factor while choosing colleges but it is certainly not the predominant factor which influences the student's choice. A student chooses a college or an university based on its curriculum, its coursework and the various opportunities it provides them to showcase their skills and talents.

Hence, to encapsulate, it is evident that the argument is rife with holes and assumptions without any relevant proof and therefore it clear that building new dormitories is not the answer to serve the future requirements of the students.