The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where consumption of the plant beneficia is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of beneficia can prevent colds. Since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of nutritional supplements derived from beneficia. We predict this will dramatically reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo that appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council it is recommended to use supplements derived from certain plant named benefica to reduce absenteeism in school and workplaces in West Meria. The reason given for the recommendation was that in a recent study at near by East Meria people visited doctor only once or twice because they were consuming high amount of benefica. The reason stated seems plausible at first glance but under close inspection it is full of unwarranted assumptions. Three questions must be answered to fully evaluate the recommendations.

To begin with, is the study report a legit source of information? It is possible that the study was conducted by local beneficia producer and the result were skewed to the favor of beneficia. It may also be the case that the sample size of the study was too low (maybe only one or two family) to conclude that beneficia is good for everyone. If the above cases are true then the argument presented in the original newsletter is significantly hampered.

Secondly, even if we assume that the study report is a legit one. Will the result be same for another sample of population? It is possible that the people surveyed in the survey were healthy in the first place without the use of the beneficia plant. It may also be the case that they use another product or plant which is reason for their good health. Perhaps benefica will not be as effective to new population as compared to people of East Maria. Therefore, if the above cases are true then the argument presented in the newsletter that benefica will improve the absenteeism in school or workplace is hindered.

Thirdly, even if we assume that the plant will reduce the frequencies of cold in the people of West Meria, can we be sure that people will not be absent from work place for another reasons? It may be the case that people in East Maria fake cold to be absent as result of which absenteeism may still remain same as before. It is also possible that beneficia may induce some side effects that will create more absenteeism. So, before this recommendation can be implemented study should be done to verify the that there are no side effects and people are not faking cold to be absent from the workplace or school.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author of the passage is able to provide more evidence and answer the above three questions in a systematic manner then it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation daily usage of the nutritional supplements derived from beneficia.