Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The speaker states that the government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve. I believe that in some cases the government should take judgments by their own but they also should consider the people's demand or point of views before making any significant decisions. Therefore, I agree the author's point to some extent.

Any democratic government is run by the people for the people of the country, and therefore, is expected to serve their people's goodwill and work to enhance and maintain their safety, basic necessities, economic conditions and well-being. In the process of serving their people, the government has to take many significant decisions. If the government officials only rely on their own judgment then the government will be no longer justified as democratic because the government officials are expected to serve their people but if they have to justify their judgment to anyone then I believe that the people's well-being would no longer be served, and whole country will be run by the government officials for their own mean and progress.

Let see an example, where a chemical factory which flood out toxic chemicals to nearby river which is harmful to residents over there then government officials have the responsibilities to think about people's health and put some considerable restrictions. By imposing restrictions, the company's production and overall growth may impede, but it was necessary to maintain a good health of people. Therefore, in that crucial situation, the officials should take decisions by considering people's view but not just their own judgment.

However, in many cases, people have different views on different things like, budget for public schools. Parents of children who go to private schools may believe that it is unnecessary investment by the government. But providing good education for people who cannot afford private schools is a right thing to do. Therefore, in some cases the officials must take right judgment to serve their people rather than considering some peoples' personal views.

All in all, peoples' personal views have diversity and therefore the government officials must consider these views and take judgmental decision accordingly.