According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the prompt suggests that honor codes should be implemented in all colleges and universities similar to that of Groveton college to decrease cheating among the students on the basis that the implementation of honor code in Groveton college dropped cheating cases per year and majority of student of the college responded to a survey that they are less likely to cheat if honor code is in place. But, in close inspection the argument presented by author is unwarranted and full of unstated assumptions. Before the suggestion can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, did the cheating case dropped only because of the honor code? Perhaps, the students became aware cheating will get them good grades but will not prepare them for the professional industry. For instance, a student who got a good grade in school might find the professional environment difficult cause he has not prepared himself accordingly. If may also be the case that, cheating case dropped because, it were the student who were reporting the cheating, and they did not bother to report anymore. So, if above mentioned conditions are true, then the argument presented in the original prompt is significantly hampered.

Secondly, what were the questions asked in survey in Groveton college? For instance, they might have asked about comparison of no honor code vs honor where student are likely to say they will not cheat if honor code is in place rather than no code at all. It may be case that, other methodology likes grade reduction of cheating students, suspension, restriction etc can result in lesser number of cheating cases than the honor code. If the student were asked to compare where they were less likely to cheat, given more alternatives, then they might have suggested alternatives other than honor code. If any of the above cases hold water then the argument presented by the author is significantly hindered.

Thirdly, can honor code be effective at all? The process of honor code seems faulty. The cheating cases are to be reported by student themselves. It may be case that student who cheat may form alliance and cheat without reporting. It may be also the case that, student who do not cheat do not bother reporting the cases to the authority. It is also possible that, the cheating student might bully the non cheating students not to report. So, if any of the above cases are true then the argument presented by the author is hampered.

In conclusion, the argument presented by the author in the prompt is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the passage is able to provide more evidences and answer the above three questions systematically then it will be possible to properly evaluate the suggestion of implementing the honor code in all colleges and universities.